jump to navigation

The Aroma December 12, 2007

Posted by clintcarter in God, Life.
trackback

starbucks.jpgWalk into Starbucks.  What is it that grabs you and makes you want to stay?  I visit a local store most Monday mornings and the thing that hits me first is the aroma.  The place just smells fantastic – and I don’t even like coffee.

I believe that many churches have lost the aroma.  We’ve misunderstood Jesus and begun to think that our strategy is to convince others rather than appeal to them.  We approach sharing the gospel with “it just makes sense” or “look at the facts” and “any rational person would choose heaven over hell”.  It’s turned into a spiritual elitism “if you were thinking correctly, like me, you’d make this decision too”.  We’ve bought into the lie that we’re here to win the religious argument, and if only we could reason it out with those far from Christ then they would get it and see the logical choice.

But the gospel doesn’t come in the logic box – it makes its entrance through experience.  Faith is immersion and engagement.  If I don’t immerse myself in my faith, I’m not going to be engaged and neither will anyone else.  I’ve heard it said that word-of-mouth is the best advertising.  And I agree – if I come across a product that revolutionizes an aspect of my life you can bet that I’ll be talking about it whenever I’m with people. 

wii.jpgI was that way with my Nintendo Wii last year and actually helped convince a whole slew of people to buy one.  I was a great Wii evangelist.  And the convincing did not come with me talking through the specs of the machine or the great deal you could get.  It came through me playing it and showing other people how to play.  And there in a nutshell is the problem with the modern church – we’re not living it so we can’t show others how to live.  If the gospel was actually changing us, we would talk about it in a very real and organic way.  It wouldn’t be forced.  It wouldn’t be an argument.  It would just be apart of who we are.

 Yes we have been convinced “For Christ’s love compels us, because we are convinced that one died for all. . .” 2 Cor. 5:14.  And yes we need to dialogue and reason with those around us “Since, then, we know what it is to fear the Lord, we try to persuade men.” 2 Cor. 5:11.  But it is not our ability to debate that God empowers; He empowers us to live extra-ordinary lives.  And that my friends is the aroma.  That is the irresistible draw that will keep people coming around to find out more.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

