jump to navigation

Hawk Nelson “Letters to the President” April 16, 2008

Posted by clintcarter in Music.
trackback

Listened to Hawk Nelson’s “Letters to the President”.  Yes I know it’s 4 years old, but it’s been sitting on my shelf wrapped in cellophane so that makes it new to me.  Now the Carter household is a big Hawk fan.  “Smile, It’s the End of the World” is one of our favorite albums.  Because of that, I thought I’d listen to their previous stuff.

If you’re already familiar with “Smile”, “Letters” seems like a second rate offering.  The Hawk sound is there but just not as polished.  The song writing isn’t on the same level as “Smile”.  They really matured a lot musically between those albums.

If you’re not familiar with Hawk Nelson, I’d say skip “Letters” and jump right into “Smile”. 

There weren’t really any tracks that stuck out as excellent compared to their sophomore project.  I realize this is unfair.  Had I heard “Letters” first, I might feel differently.  But I didn’t, so I don’t.

I’m really looking forward to the next cellophane encased Hawk album on my shelf.  I’ll be interested to see if it’s as good as “Smile”.  I’ll let you know what I think.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

