jump to navigation

Vacation impressions August 12, 2008

Posted by clintcarter in Family, Life.
trackback

We had an incredible time on vacation.  This was only our second family vacation – and the first time we’ve taken more than a week off at a time.  We spent the first week at Carey’s parent’s bed and breakfast.  I love going there.  It’s one of the few places in the world where no one wants anything from me.  The kids spend their time playing with the grandparents, Carey loves talking with her mom, and I can jump in and out of the activity at my leisure.  While we were there we took the kids to our first family water park experience.  They loved it.  Emma is a water slide fiend – she tried them all several times.  Madi loves the wave pool.  Payton booked it around the lazy river, over and over and over and over again.  We also took the kids to a carnival park where all the rides were 50 cents.  Here’s some pics from the rides.

After Duncan, OK we spent a week in Colorado Springs.  I love the mountains in summertime.  We hiked, we sightsaw, we rode trains, we went swimming – it was a great time to do nothing but be a dad and a husband.  I didn’t get on a computer for a whole week (although I did check my phone nightly to keep up with my Rangers).  It was good to disconnect and reconnect with Carey and the kids.  I also focussed on being in the moment and not worrying about getting on to the next thing.  Don’t know that I was always successful, but I tried.  And here’s why it’s important, someone asked Madi what her favorite part of vacation was, she replied “Jumping on the bed in the hotel room”.  I want to relish and enjoy the “jumping on the bed” moments with them and realize that that is life to the full.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

