jump to navigation

Where it all began part 2 October 2, 2008

Posted by clintcarter in Church Planting.
trackback

Read part 1 here.

Right off the bat, things didn’t feel right at Noland Road Baptist.  The church was great.  I loved the staff and really connected with them.  But I felt out of place.  I spent months examining my heart, examining my motives, trying to discern if it was a contentment issue.  Over and over I would try to put it to rest and focus on my ministry at Noland Road – but the sense that I was missing something persisted.

I had many conversations with church planters and church planting organizations who affirmed the call in my life.  They would remark at how unusual it was for someone who wasn’t a lead planter to have such a strong calling, and how valuable a person with my gifting could be for a new church.  However, the conversations always ended the same – “We don’t have any leads or direction for you right now.  We don’t know of a network to connect guys who play a supporting role with lead planters.”

Last September, Carey and I attended an Acts 29 Boot Camp in Raleigh, NC.  Last April we attended the Exponential Church Planting Conference in Orlando, FL.  At both of these events the call to church planting became more and more clear for our lives.  As it did, I found myself beginning to take a “whatever it takes” mindset to see the vision become a reality.  I began to seriously weigh what a bi-vocational role or a no pay position in a church plant might look like for our family.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

