jump to navigation

Balancing Act November 19, 2008

Posted by clintcarter in Life.
trackback

My mind is a jumbled mush.  Over the past 2 weeks God has done some absolutely amazing things regarding our timeline for moving to Tulsa and providing for us financially over the coming months.  At the same time, a deeply sorrowing experience in our extended family has consumed our current thoughts and immediate future.

One thing that I have been grateful for is the big-picture perspective God has allowed me to see these events through.  Regarding the church plant, I completely expected God to make Himself known and provide for us both directionally and financially.  That was why we stepped away from my job at Noland Road – we knew God was calling us and we knew that even if we couldn’t see the next steps, He would reveal them as needed.  I believe it’s been that same reliance on Him that has allowed us to see this current adversity through the lens of how He has prepared us both emotionally and situationally to respond to it.

Our hearts continue to range back and forth from heaviness to thankfulness and strangely enough, it’s a good place to be.  I led worship last weekend for a Student/Parent Retreat.  It was amazing how alive the texts I was singing became.  During moments of difficulty, God’s overwhelming goodness is so much more real to me.  I know that’s paradoxical, but I have found it to be true.

Pray for us during this time and thank God for His faithfulness and goodness in our lives.

Comments»

1. Brad Jolly - November 23, 2008

I can relate to your shared notes today. Jody and I are also moving closer to a big change in our life. God has laid the big picture on our heart about 4-6 months ago and we are now seeing how His plans are coming together in his timing. We too have recently heard some news that has made our hearts heavy for those we love most dearly.

I will be praying for you all during this time that God will continue to show himself and bless you in revealing his goodness and faithfulness!

2. Steven Jones - November 24, 2008

I’ve been going back and forth about posting something here. But I see that Brad did, so I follow suit.

I know this balancing act. When I read your post, your words articulated the way I feel about this in a way I haven’t been able to do, at least in such a concise way. I’ve already made the move to Washington and I still feel both the excitedness and heaviness within me. In my situation, I leave the girl behind in Oklahoma that I plan on marrying to go where she sees God leading us both. But as it is, we have to be separated for a time. Also, the people at Heritage in Shawnee that I have grown to love deeply and serve sincerely are, not left behind or parted in ways, but far away from me.

You keep walking in faith, because you know that it is God who provides.


Leave a Reply

