jump to navigation

Where are we? November 27, 2008

Posted by clintcarter in Humor, Life.
trackback

We moved to the booming metropolis of Duncan, Oklahoma on Tuesday night.  “What?  Where did that come from?” (That’s what I’d be saying if I were you.)  In a couple of my posts from the last 2 weeks, I mentioned a deeply sorrowing event in the life of our family.  Due to that event, we are moving to Duncan to help Carey’s mom run their Bed and Breakfast.

This was not apart of my plan to be sure.  I was enjoying unemployment and about to enter the ranks of the few, the proud, the brave – substitute teachers.  I thought I’d be substituting in KC while we were preparing for a church plant this summer in Tulsa.  However, God obviously had other plans – which is perfectly fine by me.  I’d rather take His route any day.  I saw His hand in the timing – the week that I resigned from Noland Road was the very week Carey’s mom needed us.

Leaving KC and our friends so quickly wasn’t easy.  The whole transition happened within 10 days.  We had hoped that Madi, Emma, and Payton could finish out the school year – they were doing so well in each of their respective classes.  But we trust that if God led us here, He will take care of our kids.

At this point our plan is still to move to Tulsa this summer.  We put our house on the market last week – check it out here.  Some of our closest friends came last Friday night to help us clean, paint, and pack.  We couldn’t have done it without them and wish that they were moving to Tulsa with us.  In fact we’re trying to talk some of them into it 🙂

I’ve never run a Bed and Breakfast before.  Thankfully, my friend JD reminded me of someone else I admire who runs a B&B.  I will be looking to him for inspiration and direction in the coming months.  Check out the first tips I’ve picked up here.

Comments»

1. Diana Rupert - November 27, 2008

Good luck! And as you said God have plans for us. Let it flow. Keep it up and keep posting. Thanks 🙂

2. Ryan Goodrich - November 28, 2008

You might be interested to know that Duncan is the birthplace of Allen Bruce Goodrich, who is affectionately known as “Ryno’s Dad.” Dad grew up in Bray, which is between Duncan and Marlow. In fact, the road on which the old family farm used to be is still named “Goodrich Road.”

Know that Erica and I are praying for all of you as you embark on this previously unforeseen, but nonetheless exciting, chapter in your lives. I love you all and look forward to seeing you soon!


Leave a Reply

