jump to navigation

Trans-Siberian in OKC December 2, 2008

Posted by clintcarter in Life, Music.
trackback

My honey surprised me with tickets to see Trans-Siberian Orchestra in Oklahoma City on Sunday night.  I’ve been wanting to see them for a couple of years but it never worked out – I thought I’d missed my chance this year in KC since we moved to Duncan, OK last week.

The concert was absolutely amazing.  Great music, incredible showmanship.  Here’s some video from Sunday night – not taken by me, I was up in the nosebleeds.

My favorite moments were Carol of the Bells (as seen above), the dueling pianists, and their version of Liszt’s Hungarian Rhapsody #2 (one of my all time favorites).  I love the mixture of Classical music with modern rock.  The institutional church could take some notes from Trans-Siberian.  They are masters at taking something of substance from the past and making it accessible to this generation.

Comments»

1. Jonathan - December 5, 2008

That’s awesome you were able to go!
We actually did that same song in our Christmas service last year. The video we made to go with it is posted here.

In my opinion the coolest part was the dude doing the guitar solo was really doing the guitar solo, and he rocked it! (Go Adam!)

2. Sugar - December 10, 2008

Wow! I’ve heard their music for years, but for you to get to experience it live, that is an extra special treat! Glad your hunny took you.


Leave a Reply

