jump to navigation

Is this straight? March 3, 2009

Posted by clintcarter in Current.
trackback

Took my wife on a date tonight.  Chick-Fil-A, Cinnabon and a movie – thought about going somewhere nice but why pass up Cinnabon?  We enjoyed each others company as usual:)

During the film I observed something that seems to be a pattern in major motion pictures over the last decade.  Have you ever noticed how gay people are most always portrayed as the caring, understanding friend?  Gay couples are portrayed as having solid wisdom and advice concerning relationships.  You don’t see a lot of gay antagonists in plot lines or gay people offering bad advice.  Maybe there are movies like that out there – I just haven’t seen them.  If you show me one, I bet I can show you 10 that fit into the pattern I described above.  Now I’m not talking about independent films, just mainstream movies.

Why do you think that is?  Do gay people not have relationship problems?  Are they rarely cruel and vindictive?

I don’t know a lot of gay people, but the few that I know seem to be standard human beings, capable of all the good and bad things that I’m capable of.  So why portray them as saints most of the time?  People have flaws and it’s ridiculous to pretend other wise.

Comments»

1. Brenda Ahring - March 4, 2009

Clint, think about the morals of the industry that’s portraying gays as “saints” — there’s the answer to your question. My opinion… I think the ultra-liberal motion picture industry portrays gays as they do in an attempt to convince everyone that it’s okay to be gay…. even GOOD to be gay. Hollywood can stump their message in ways no other group can.


Leave a Reply

