jump to navigation

Sweet Tea Patrol March 30, 2009

Posted by clintcarter in Beets.
trackback

teaI am a sweet tea connoisseur.  I believe the infatuation started with my grandma’s tea.  I can remember drinking it starting around age 5 or 6.  I loved it.  And why not?  It only has 3-4 cups of sugar per glass.  You might wonder how that’s even possible.  I don’t know how it’s possible, I just know it’s true.

Now that I’m grown I don’t like it THAT sweet, but I still love the sweet tea.  When I’m ordering at a restaurant I usually ask if they have sweet tea.  Sometimes they say “No, but we have unsweet tea and you can add your own sweetener.”  If someone says that to me, I personally have 3 options: 1) spit in their face 2) leave the restaurant or 3) ask for water.  I almost always choose option 3 – however options 1 and 2 are ever the temptation.  Don’t they know that tea is only properly sweetened while the water is boiling?  If they are that inept at making tea, I’m not sure they can be trusted to make other food.

Chick Fil A consistently makes quality sweet tea.  I taste better from time to time – but I would choose their’s anyday.  McDonald’s offering is trash.  I always like to try the tea at local joints because you can find a diamond in the rough every now and then.  Oh, and contrary to the picture.  There is no room for lemons.

I’m thirsty.

Comments»

1. JD - March 30, 2009

I wish I could like sweet tea. I mean, I can drink it, if I’m asked to… but I lack the passion I see others have for it. Maybe there is something wrong with me.

At least I like Dr. Pepper.

clintcarter - March 31, 2009

There probably is something wrong with you – I’d suggest counseling to work through this block.
The good thing is that our friendship isn’t based on sweet tea, but rather on more important stuff like baseball and John Piper 🙂

2. Rob Kibbe - March 30, 2009

Sweet Suntea. Throw Sugar Water and teabags in a big glass jar and set it out in the hot Texas Sun. Serve over ice. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!
Wow, I really miss that.

3. Brenda Ahring - March 31, 2009

Hmmm… I wonder if it really matters if it’s the hot Texas Sun, the hot Oklahoma Sun, or the hot Missouri Sun???


Leave a Reply

