jump to navigation

6 years later May 26, 2009

Posted by clintcarter in Church, Life.
trackback

I took the kids to Arlington Park Baptist Church on Sunday.  This was the church we served in during seminary and it was our first full time ministry position.  The whole morning was nostalgic.  I got to visit with close friends and people who played a major role in my formation as a minister.

As I sat through the service, I realized that it was 10 years ago to the day that we first visited APBC.  I was green and inexperienced.  Yet these people invited me into their lives and even gave me the opportunity to lead them.  It seemed like the honeymoon period lasted a couple of years.  There were difficult days to be sure – within the first year we lost our pastor and the youth minister – but Carey and I felt loved, accepted and supported by this group of believers through all of it.

It was a treat to walk through the halls and see face after face that meant so much to us.  A part of me wished that we were still serving alongside these people.  But I am confident that God called us away to St. Louis in 2003 and that He was slowly directing our path toward church planting even then.

Regardless of where we are or where we end up, it’s nice to come back home every once in a while.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

