jump to navigation

My crazy wife and her selfish husband December 3, 2009

Posted by clintcarter in Family, Life.
trackback

My wife decided to brave the rain/snow and below freezing temperatures for a Chick-Fil-A meal – well actually for 52 Chick-Fil-A meals.  Whenever CFA opens a new store, they give away free meals for a year to the first 100 people who are willing to spend 24 hours camping out in front of the store.

Carey and Debby decided on Tuesday afternoon that they would do it.  They showed up at 5:45 am on Wednesday morning at the new CFA and then stayed there til 6am the following morning.  This would normally sound like fun except that the temperature hovered around freezing all day and there was sleet and snow.  They stayed in a tent and braved the elements for 24 hours.  As a great man once said “You’re not hard-core unless you live hard-core”.  They are definitely hard-core.

I probably shouldn’t tell you this, but I need to confess.  I was a terrible husband.  Carey called me and needed a blanket and another pair of pants because hers got wet from the rain.  But did I ride to her rescue?  No, I did not.  I wish I had, but I was selfish and didn’t want to put the kids in the car to drive the 20 minutes to see her.  Thankfully Jesus and Carey have forgiven me.  Hopefully next time I have an opportunity like that I’ll serve my wife.

Although, I plan to go with her to the next CFA opening.  I’m hoping that it will be in June and it won’t be raining 🙂

Comments»

1. Debby - December 5, 2009

It’s funny how making points with the mother-in-law has long passed! I was cold, too.

2. clintcarter - December 5, 2009

Yes but you didn’t ask me for anything 🙂


Leave a Reply

