jump to navigation

Memory, Sorrow, Thorn January 5, 2010

Posted by clintcarter in Books.

I just finished a 4 book series entitled “Memory, Sorrow, Thorn” by Tad Williams.  These books are in the same vein as Lord of the Rings.

I thoroughly enjoyed the series for 2 reasons.

First, it was manageable in scope.  Some fantasy authors get lost in the worlds they create.  Either they spend too many pages dealing with history or they try to follow too many story lines at once.  The mark of a good book is that it is limited in scope and deals with a certain story arc and a few characters.

Second, there was significant character development.  You really got to take a journey to see these people change for better or worse in their experiences.

There were twists and unexpected surprises throughout the books.  As a bonus, I was very pleased with the masterful job Tad did of bringing closure to the storyline and yet leaving the future open for the characters to continue to grow.

If I gave away stars, I would give this series 4.



No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: