jump to navigation

My Favorite Musicals January 15, 2010

Posted by clintcarter in Movies, Music.
trackback

Watching “Singing in the Rain” with the kids tonight.  It’s one of our favorite movies to watch as a family.  It got me to wondering about my top 10 musicals (both stage and movie) of all time.

10. Across the Universe – some fantastic remakes of Beatle’s songs

9. Jungle Book – no choice but to sing along

8. Seven Brides for Seven Brothers – the barn raising is one of my favorite musical dancing scenes

7. The Little Mermaid – superb songwriting

6. Mary Poppins – Julie Andrews, the best musical actress of all time (and I’ll fight you for it)

5. Sound of Music – more Julie, I could listen to her sing all day

4. The Phantom of the Opera – haunting refrains and soaring melodies with captivating orchestration

3. Les Miserables – hands down my favorite stage production.  I love how the various characters deal with redemption

2. Moulin Rouge! – the music is phenomenal and it’s Obi Wan Kenobi singing. What’s not to like?

1. Singing in the Rain – charm, wit, great singing, great dancing, actors that look like they’re having a good time – you can’t beat it

Comments»

1. JD - January 20, 2010

I absolutely agree with #1.

2. clintcarter - January 20, 2010

I forgot one – or really a trilogy – High School Musical. For the top ten list, I’ll lose the Jungle Book and then slide HSM into the number 6 slot.


Leave a Reply

