jump to navigation

Leaving on a jet plane January 26, 2010

Posted by clintcarter in Church Planting.
trackback

Let me just start by saying, I like John Denver.

I’m off to Seattle this morning, well actually Tacoma.  I’m looking forward to it because I’ve never visited that part of the country.  Wish I was taking Carey with me – she’s my favorite person to experience new places with.

I am glad that I don’t have to go by myself.  I’m going with my friend and fellow pastor Ben.   We’re attending a school at Soma Church this week.  They are a little bit further down the road than we are and have had some success in helping their church stay on mission in smaller groups.  We’ll be living with a family for a week and observing how they incorporate the church into the life of their familes.  One of the things I’m most interested in learning is how they include children within the church.  For the last 30 years churches have been age segregated.  We are now beginning to see how detrimental this model is as 90% of all evangelical teens leave the church by their sophomore year of college.

Ben and I are committed to figuring out a way to include children and youth into the overall life of the church.  We’re hoping that Soma School will give us some practical advice and ideas on how to do that well.

Comments»

1. Mom - February 2, 2010

90% of all evangelical teens leave the church by their sophmore year of college? How tragic! May our Father in heaven utilize your gifts and callings to change the direction our country is going, one family at a time.


Leave a Reply

