jump to navigation

Avatar January 31, 2010

Posted by clintcarter in Movies.
trackback

So yes, I realize that half of the world has already seen this movie.  But tonight I saw it for the first time.

The more I think about it, the more I like it.  I really enjoyed the experience.  It’s not a new storyline.  Imperial nation driving out indigenous people and one person finds themselves caught in the middle.  But the best stories can be told over and over.  I really felt like James Cameron did a fantastic job with getting you to the heart of that story.

The movie had a great pace and I never felt like it was dragging.  It is a long movie, but I don’t remember any of it that felt extraneous.  The technology and presentation was fantastic.  I’ve never really cared for 3D movies – they always seemed like a cheap trick to engage the audience when the story wasn’t sufficient.  This experience was different.  The 3D wasn’t used to surprise you, just to immerse you in the world – very effective and much appreciated.

One thing I found humorous – the final battle is a knife fight.  With all the variety available, it seems like action movies always come down to a final sword/knife combat.  Oh well, I guess it sells tickets.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

