jump to navigation

Twilight February 16, 2010

Posted by clintcarter in Books.
trackback

I read “Twilight” last week.  So many people told me it was a good book that I finally broke down and checked it out.  Overall it was a good read.  It’s not a classic by any means, but it is a solid story with good writing and believable characters.

The story of forbidden love has been told many times and in many different ways.  However there is a bit of a twist when the object of your affection happens to be a vampire who is attracted to you on multiple levels – one of them being that your blood smells so delicious.  The good news is of course that he is apart of a vampire family that only drinks animal blood (or tries to).

I thought Stephenie Meyer did a great job at capturing the feelings of being in a new relationship.  It took me back 14 years to my first conversations with Carey.  The first time we sat next to each other, the first time we held hands.  It’s funny how the world seems to stop in those moments and nothing else exists.

I enjoyed the book and afterward picked up the second book “New Moon”.  But a couple of chapters in I put it down.  It felt like the same story and there is way too much “I don’t deserve you”, “No, I don’t deserve you” between the two main characters.  Okay we get it, neither of you feel like you deserve the other one.  Can we just not talk about it anymore?

Comments»

1. Erica - February 16, 2010

I wish I would have stopped at Twight. The rest of the series annoyed me. I finally gave up on the progressive increase of retardation and ignored the last book.


Leave a Reply

