jump to navigation

My only good April 12, 2010

Posted by clintcarter in God.
trackback

Reading in the book of Mark this morning.  Listen to what Jesus said:

Nothing that goes into a person from outside can defile him, but the things that come out of a person are what defile him.

This is one area where I often don’t believe Jesus – at least if you look into my heart.  I regularly see myself as a good person and think that it’s the stuff outside of me that messes me up.  But, if I take Jesus seriously, then I am the villain.  I am the one rebelling against God and His ways.

Now this is diametrically opposed to the message in our culture.  Our world is, as David Platt says, a land of self-improvement.  We’re all about self-sufficiency, self-esteem, and self-confidence. And I fall right in line with the piper and his tune.

The thing I like to ignore and gloss over is that I am really messed up.  I am an incredibly selfish person.  I am far more interested in serving myself than those around me, even the people I love like my wife and kids.  And I’m sure not interested in serving a Divine Being – unless of course I will get something out of the deal.  No one taught me how to do this.  I’m not like this because of my environment.  I am just a mess.

Because of this, I need a Savior.  I need someone who will not only satisfy the debt of my rebellion, but someone who will give me a new identity and the power to be a different person.  Herein lies the beauty of Jesus and His gospel.

One more quote from David Platt that has the potential to change a perspective, change a worldview, change a life.  Not because Mr. Platt is such a great thinker, but because of such a great truth.

Our understanding of who God is and who we are drastically affects our understanding of who Christ is and why we need him.

I am weaker and more sinful than I ever before believed, but I am more loved and accepted than I ever dared hope. Tim Keller

Comments»

1. Ryan Goodrich - April 13, 2010

Well said, my brother. I’m not for sure whether to say “Amen” or “Ouch!”

2. Debby - April 13, 2010

That’s why I love “sitting in on” one-on-one encounters Jesus had with other people. The moments in which people see themselves in the light of who God is: priceless.

3. Jennine - April 26, 2010

Wow, I can sooo relate!


Leave a Reply

