jump to navigation

Eggnog time again September 15, 2010

Posted by clintcarter in Beets.
trackback

What!!  You’re kidding right.  Eggnog won’t be on the shelves of grocery stores til November.

That is true my friend, but it is not a problem for those with foresight and ingenuity.

Last December, I began pondering the prospects of 10 months without eggnog.  I’m not going to lie to you – that was a dark place.  As I saw it I had 3 options, 1) write a petition and send it to the makers of eggnog with the signatures of 5 million eggnog lovers, 2) hijack a refrigerated truck and fill it with eggnog, or 3) put some in the freezer to be enjoyed later in the year.

Option #1 would be so much work that it would distract me from my family and mission in life.  Option #2, while appealing on multiple levels, would end in disaster either because A) I was arrested or B) a truck full of eggnog will only last as long as the expiration dates.  So #3 was my only viable option.

I went to the grocery store and chose 2 half gallons of eggnog.  I stored them away at the bottom of the deep freeze to slumber through the winter and spring until my thirst demanded them

In the fullness of time (yesterday), I opened the freezer and thawed the nectar of the gods.  Last evening I shared a glass with my good friend Jason because he appreciates the finer things in life.

What a beautiful day.

Comments»

1. Katie Nason - September 22, 2010

I want to see Europe pictures!!


Leave a Reply

