jump to navigation

The Deathly Hallows part 1 November 22, 2010

Posted by clintcarter in Movies.
trackback

Carey and I saw the new Harry Potter film yesterday afternoon.  Now understand that this is coming from someone who is invested in this series.  I’ve read all of the books at least twice and I absolutely loved the last book “The Deathly Hallows”.

This movie was awful.  Barely anything happened to move the plot forward.  The entire movie could have fit into a 30 minute segment – yet they stretched it out for 150 minutes.

When I first heard that they were dividing the last book into 2 movies, it didn’t bother me.  It’s a big book and I figured there was at least that much material there.  Either I was way off, or they should have hired someone else to write the screenplay.  The movie pretty much boils down to 4 intense scenes (which are way too short) interspersed with 2 hours of boredom.

So disappointing.  In fact, once you look at the picture below, you’ve essentially seen three-quarters of the movie.

The acting was fine – standard fare for the series.  Don’t waste your money at the theater.  In fact don’t waste your time unless you are a hard core Potter fan.  Read the book instead.  You’ll be much happier.

Comments»

1. Katie Nason - November 27, 2010

I think the only way the movies are any good are because I love the books so much. In fact, I went home and proceeded to read the book and I was once again reminded of their magic. literally.


Leave a Reply

