jump to navigation

Doing something else February 7, 2011

Posted by clintcarter in Church Planting, God.
trackback

This is a good place to be.  I’ve been here before, but I’ve definitely been other places.

There are moments in life when you know that you are right where you are supposed to be.  Moments when there is nothing else you’d rather be doing.  I’ve been in the middle of one of those moments for the past 27 months.

I’m not saying that my life is without challenges and struggles that are bothersome, those are present for everyone in this sin sick world.  But I am saying that in the midst of those, this is exactly what I was made to do.

To be Carey’s husband; Madi, Emma, Payton and Alli’s dad; to be a church planter/pastor here in urban Oklahoma City; this is it.

Hopefully I’ve learned that feelings aren’t enough to dictate whether I am where I’m supposed to be.  In the past, I’ve been in the right place with the wrong attitude and it was torture.  I know that disappointments and failures will test my confidence.  I’m sure I will forget this security from time to time and question my place.

This is the reason I place my hope in Christ.  Ultimately it matters not where I live and serve.  What matters is Who I’m serving?

I’m reminded of the quote by Eric Liddel “I believe God made me for a purpose. . .but He also made me fast.  And when I run, I feel His pleasure.”  I feel like I’m running like I never have before and I feel His pleasure.

Comments»

1. Mom - February 9, 2011

There is nothing more peaceful that walking in the will of God. You are right, it certainly does not mean that everything is perfect, yet it is an unbelievable feeling that it is okay even in the midst of difficulties. Only God could give such a blessing, the peace that passes all understanding as described in Philippians 4. Praise God for His love and care.


Leave a Reply

