jump to navigation

2 days away May 31, 2011

Posted by clintcarter in Family.
trackback

I’m spending 2 days with my beautiful bride at a Bed and Breakfast in Ardmore, OK.  We try to do this kind of thing 3-4 times a year because it reminds us of why we married each other in the first place.  We didn’t decide to get married because we wanted to have kids or because I thought she’d be a great partner in ministry or because we wanted to fix up an old house together.

I married Carey Brewer because I couldn’t imagine life without her.  I wanted to spend all of the time I could with her and marriage seemed like the best way to make that happen.

I love that we have 4 amazing kids.  I love the fact that she serves side by side with me in planting Crosstown.  I love the house God blessed us with and that we get to work on together.  But all of those things slowly pull me away from seeing Carey as I once did.  If I let them, they begin to convince me that she is a means to some other end.

But she’s not.  She is an incredibly beautiful woman (inside and out) with a smile that causes amnesia in me.  She has a laugh that I constantly pursue.  I want to know what she thinks because she sees things in a totally different and fascinating way.  She loves Jesus and the Gospel and brings me back to them regularly.  No, she is not the means.  She is the end that I hoped for when I said “I do”.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

