jump to navigation

Elevensies November 11, 2011

Posted by clintcarter in Books.
trackback

Happy Elevensies Day!

I figured I’d better write something on this most important day of the year.  Talk of elevensies makes me think of Tolkien.

I started re-reading The Silmarillion this week.  I figured 12 hours on a plane was a good time to revisit Middle Earth.  I’ve read The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings four or five times – each time has been enriching and enjoyable.  However, The Silmarillion is by far the best thing Tolkien ever wrote.  Every time I read it, I’m blown away by how good it is and how much I enjoy the story.  The history of the Elves is fascinating.

If you are a fan of Tolkien’s books, The Silmarillion is a must read.

Comments»

1. Jason Lee - November 11, 2011

I’ve started that book 3 or 4 times… 😛 Somewhere in the middle, I get bogged down, distracted, and never make it back to finish. By the time I feel like reading it again, I’ve forgotten where I was so I have to start over. I may just wait for Peter Jackson to address it. 😛


Leave a Reply

