jump to navigation

You’re Bothering Me April 4, 2012

Posted by clintcarter in Beets, Music.
trackback

Carey and I went furniture shopping last night.  First we went to Factory Direct Furniture and then Direct Factory Furniture (I bet they get their shipping swapped all the time).  Both of those experience were pleasant.  The sales staff was helpful but not obtrusive.  We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves as we walked around looking at couches and bed frames.  We would sit on a couch for a while and talk and then move on to the next one.

Our last stop of the evening was Mathis Brothers Furniture.  I do not like the way MB salespeople stalk you.  We were greeted at the door and then followed.  The salesperson stayed literally 2 steps behind us and felt the need to comment on everything I said to Carey.  The shopping experience was no longer fun and I was getting frustrated.  But I pushed through it because we wanted to compare prices with the other stores.

At that moment “In the Still of the Night” by Boyz II Men came on the overhead speakers.  This has always been one of my favorite songs to sing along with – the bass line is a lot of fun.  So I started humming along but the salesperson wouldn’t stop talking.  That was the final straw.  I stopped humming and kindly told the employee that they were making me uncomfortable and I wished that they would stop following us.  After a moment of awkwardness they left and I was able to finish the song and our shopping experience in peace.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

