jump to navigation

Warm Toes January 15, 2013

Posted by clintcarter in Beets.
trackback

After 3 1/2 years of doing my work in local coffee shops or at a desk in my bedroom, I finally have an office!

This is good news for several reasons:

  • It helps me leave work at work.  Ministry can be life-consuming.  It’s hard to find the line between my job and my life.  Having my office at home was not helpful in this regard.  Having an office away from home has made it easier for me to leave work at work.
  • There are fewer distractions.  Working in public spaces made concentrating a challenge.  Working at home when the kids were around was near impossible.  And working from home when the kids were at school just made me want to “make out” with my wife all the time 🙂 (probably gonna be in trouble if she reads this post).
  • But finally, and probably most importantly, my feet stay warm.  It’s an understatement to say that our 111 year old house is drafty.  Sitting at my desk during the winter months was frigid, even with 2 space heaters going next to me.  There are no drafts in my office.  We have nice carpet so I can walk around in my socks.  It’s very cozy (I tried to think of a more manly word to use than “cozy” but all I could think of was “snug” and I’m not sure that’s a step in the right direction).
  • Oh, and all of the walls are wood paneling.  So all I’m missing now is a big leather chair, some mahogany cabinets and a smoking jacket – and maybe a moose head.Office 1
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

